The duplicate control works only with contacts. When you create a new contact, the service checks whether a contact with this phone number already exists. If there is one, the data of an old contact and a new one with the same number is merged in the very first contact with this phone number. In this case, in the comments of the contact, it is indicated which contacts were merged. Also, you can see a link to the final contact there.